Transfer Ownership Of Google Drive Files Before Deleting A User

by Koosha Araghi on August 2, 2014

Google released a small update to the user section of the Google Apps Control Panel. Previously, when admins went to delete a user, they would simply be prompted to confirm they were ok with deleting email, contacts, calendars, docs, and more. The latest update now provides an additional pop up screen that offers admins the ability to transfer drive data to another active user.

You don't need to start the process of deleting a user in order to transfer documents to another user. Take a look at the steps below for more info on how to get this done.

Transferring Drive Files To Another User

Go to your Google Apps Administrative Console

1. Click on Google Apps


 

2. Select Drive


 

3. Click on Transfer Ownership

4. Complete the From and to recipient fields


 

5. Select Transfer Documents to proceed and you're good to go.
 

Please note: Depending on the amount of data being transferred, you may need to double check with the new owner and make sure they will have enough space in their drive or to get them to upgrade prior to the transfer.

To check to see the amount of storage space available, go to Google Drive and take a look at the bottom left of the page. You can also select manage to increase your storage space.

More Info

Start a Google G Suite Trial

With your Google G Suite account, you’ll have access to email, video conferences, online storage, and other business tools. With UpCurve Cloud you get personalized and prompt service from a Google certified sales engineer, during your 2 week trial at no additional cost.

Get a Free Trial of G Suite by Google Cloud

Find similar articles in these categories:

PRODUCT: G Suite by Google Cloud

AUDIENCE: End Users

Koosha Araghi
Marketing Manager at UpCurve Cloud
More From This Author »